2014 Favourites: Face-inating Products

IMG_1782_Fotor

It is the end of 2014 and that can only mean one thing, it’s time to share my most loved products of the year so I would like to welcome you to favourites week here on my blog! I’m splitting it over 3 days, Face, Eyes and Lips, because there is no way I was going to fit everything into one post!

2014 consisted of branching out with my makeup collection, in particular dabbling with higher end products. Going through my collection looking for my favourites, I realised that a lot of them were on the more pricey side, and although my bank account isn’t happy about it, I’m at least glad my money was well spend? That’s what I’m telling myself anyway …

Primer:

I’m going to start with a confession, I’m not really into primers. I think it’s just because I’ve never found one that really amazes me because I’ve tried a few this year and although there were a few that I liked, I don’t make an effort to use one every day at all. One product that I have found myself using a lot in place of a primer is MAC Prep + Prime Fix+. Sometimes it can be a while between moisturising my face and actually applying my makeup so I like to spritz a bit all over my face and it hydrates and creates a smooth base to work with, and I feel like it helps a bit to prolong the wear of my foundation, as well as it being super refreshing. It is a really quick extra step in the getting-ready process that I’ve really been enjoying

Foundation:

There are two foundation that I have been completely obsessed with this year and conveniently one is full coverage and the other is light-medium coverage. When I want a flawless face, whether I’m going out or I’m just having a bad skin day and want my face to last the day, the Smashbox Studio Skin foundation have been my fool-proof saviour. On the bottle, it says it’s a hydrating, long-wearing oil-free foundation and that is exactly what it is. It goes on super smoothly, doesn’t cling to dry patches, gives medium coverage that it completely buildable to full coverage (which still looks natural) and it is honestly the longest lasting foundation I have ever worn. It doesn’t wear off on my forehead or jawline which it so common with other foundations, and I can go the whole day without touching up or powdering and when I come to take it off, it still looks flawless. To me, the foundation is faultless. When I want a lighter base I can’t stop reaching for the Estee Lauder Double Wear Light. I never hear beauty bloggers talk about this foundation and I can’t for the life of me understand why. It has all the benefits of the original Double Wear, but it never looks cakey! It gives long-wearing, matte coverage that can be light, medium or even full coverage but when I apply it with a beauty blender, it looks like I’m just having a great skin day. I really wish more people would use it. It is probably my most used face product of the year.

Concealer:

I decided to give into the hype surrounding the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer and holey moley, I can understand why the hype is so huge. It gives the fullest of coverage but blends seamlessly into the skin, it doesn’t look cakey under the eyes and it lasts all day on blemishes. If I had to use one concealer for the rest of my life, it would be this one. Saying that, I can be a bit of a concealer junkie at times and I really enjoy using a highlighting concealer over top. The (prepare for the longest name ever) Estee Lauder Double Wear Brush On BB Glow Highlighter is the best one I’ve tried. It gives a decent amount of coverage so that it could be used on its own if you wanted, but it gives the skin such a beautiful glow, without being shimmery. Definitely worth trying if you want to take the extra step.

Powder:

There are two products that I haven’t been able to keep my hands off for the last half of the year and the are both the kind of thing that you can use alone or on top of makeup to amp up the coverage. The first is the Bare Minerals Concealer in Well Rested. This product is amazing. I have tried setting my under-eye concealer with translucent powder, tinted powder, special under-eye powder, and most of them do an alright job but once you have tried this once, you will never be impressed with the rest again. It has a bit of coverage in the powder and the colour for me is a shade or two lighter than my skin so it highlights really nicely but that isn’t all, it keeps the area looking so bright and glowy without a hint of shimmer and it makes me look so much more ‘well rested’ and awake, my only caution is that you will get hooked. My second favourite powder product is the Australis Fresh and Flawless Pressed Powder. This is a super affordable powder foundation that is one of the best I have ever tried, and it is one of the cheapest. It gives reasonable coverage, enough for me to feel comfortable wearing it alone, but it doesn’t have too much coverage that it looks cakey when I use it to set foundation. If you buff a bit into your skin, your foundation really will look flawless, the only downside is that the colour selection is rather shitty …

Bronzer:

Again I gave into the hype and decided to purchase NARS Laguna Bronzing Powder and I get it now. I understand why everyone and their mother raves about it. It is the perfect shade. Literally. It is warm enough to bronze the skin but cool enough to contour, it is blendable and long lasting, there isn’t a single thing I don’t like about it!

Blush:

I have never been particularly adventurous with my blush. I like it to look natural and that is about it. It was only later in the year that I started to actually care about what blush I put on. When I wanted that natural flush look, I reached for my Charlotte Tilbury Cheek to Chic Blush in First Love. This is a super luxurious product that is, again, faultless. The colour is stunning and I am definitely going to try a few more because I love the formula so much. If I don’t want my blush to look too strong, most of the time that’s when I’m wearing a bold lip, I always always always reach for MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul. In the pan, it scares the crap out of me, it is bright peachy orange, but on the cheek it gives a stunning warmth that brings life to the cheeks, makes you look healthy but isn’t ‘colourful’ in any way. If you are struggling to find a blush to wear with brighter lip colours, then please give this a go!

Highlighter:

For this category, I was tossing up between two products and I decided to go with the one that I found myself wearing more throughout the year and that is MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle. The glow this is product gives is so gorgeous, I can’t even explain it. It looks so natural and dewy, not shimmery or glittery. The tone of it, for me, goes really well with the makeup I like to wear and the best part is that I have used it for months and months and I haven’t even made a dent in it.

Those are all of my face favourites for 2014, I know it’s a long post but I hope you enjoyed it nevertheless. I would love to hear what your favourites are because it is a new year, and I have to start preparing for my 2015 favourites right??

Thanks for reading,

xo

Leave a Reply

