Drugstore Primers … Worth The Money?

IMG_1420

Primers can be quite the conversation starter in the beauty world. Are the necessary or not? If you’re on the fence about whether to give them a go, I’ve got a few drugstore recommendations on what’s hot and what’s not.

  • Garnier Perfect Blue 5 sec Smoothing Base Perfector. Verdict: Worth a shot

This product is alright but it isn’t outstanding by any means. It is very thick and slippery to the point of almost greast feeling. It is primarily intended to fill pores and blur imperfections and not so much increase the longevity of the makeup you put on and that is quite evident. My foundation does go on smoother than with no primer at all, but around the 6-7 hour mark of wearing my makeup, I notice around my nose and chin, where my skin get oilier, the foundation is breaking up quite significantly. Overall, it is affordable and makes my makeup look a bit smoother so, particularly if you have normal/dry skin, I would give it a go

  • Collection Primed & Ready Smoothing Makeup Primer. Verdict: Great value for money

This primer is the cheapest from the selection I have and in no way is that reflected in the quality. It has a clear, almost jelly-like texture and doesn’t leave a greasy feeling to the skin. It still smoothes the appearance of imperfection such as pores and makes my makeup go on a lot smoother, without compromising the staying power of my foundation. I find, when I use this primer, my foundation last about as long as without primer but it looks much smoother. Overall, it’s super duper affordable and effective so definitely worth investigating further.

  • The Body Shop All-In-One InstaBlur

I have heard a lot of good reviews on this primer from all over the web but, personally, I found it to be a bit of a waste of time. The improvements to the texture and appearance of my skin wasn’t very noticeable at all and I also didn’t notice my makeup lasting any longer than it would have otherwise. I have quite a problem with enlarged pores around my nose and cheeks so I think this just wasn’t as effective as some others I’ve tried. Overall, perhaps if you don’t have huge concerns in the way of skin texture, this product may make your skin look even more perfect, but otherwise I found this to be a bit of an unnecessary layer.

  • L’oreal Paris Revitalift Magic Blur

Let’s just say I’ve saved the best for last. This is by far my favourite drugstore primer. It smooths the appearance of pores and makes skin look softer without leaving it feeling greasy and slippery, makeup goes on smoother and more even and that affect stay the whole day underneath my foundation. The only slight negative I have to say about this is that I avoid putting it on my chin and right around my nostrils because I have quite oily skin and those areas are where I get the oiliest. Overall, if you are going to buy a drugstore primer, make it this one. You  won’t regret it.

 

5 thoughts on “Drugstore Primers … Worth The Money?

Leave a Reply

