Disappointing Product: Drugstore Pigments

IMG_1320_Fotor_Collage

After my life was changed from trying the Maybelline Colour Tattoos (no I’m not being dramatic), I was over the moon that they expanded the collection and created the Colour Tattoo Pure Pigments. Drugstore pigments? I could believe my luck. It turns out I opened my mouth a little too soon …

I think I found these pigments so disappointing partly because the original Colour Tattoo cream eyeshadows had phenomenal quality and colour range considering the price and availability at the drugstore. I picked up 2 of the Pure Pigments, in the shades Buff & Tuff and Downtown Brown. IMG_1322

 

In my opinion, they would be marketed much more appropriately as a ‘loose eyeshadow’ because that is essentially what they are. The pigmentation is just not up to scratch. They are a bit powdery and the colour intensity just isn’t transferred onto the eye. The colour range is a bit disappointing too, I think there are about 6 shades, these are the 2 most neutral, and the others, some brighter, bolder colours, I’m sure have the same quality.

IMG_1324

If you’re in the market for a loose eyeshadow then give this product a go. If you’re looking for a high intensity pigment, I would give this one a miss. You’re going to get much better bang for your buck with the Loreal Infallible eyeshadows or even venture into Makeup Geek pigments.

Thanks for reading,

xo

 

4 thoughts on “Disappointing Product: Drugstore Pigments

  1. I have the shade Buff and Tuff too and I found that if you spray your brush with a bit of water or a setting spray before packing the pigment on, the colour completely changes and becomes really pigmented and metallic! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

