Review: The Body Shop Double Whammy

IMG_1201

I saw that The Body Shop were releasing some new products, actually quite a lot of new products. So I went into my local store who give the best customer service (I got some great advice about how to get rid of the tickle in my throat I’ve had for 2 weeks) and I picked up a couple of things.

I knew I wanted 2 of the new release products. I was definitely going to buy at least 2 but when I went in there, there were so many more new products that I expected so I (only) picked up one extra. However looking back, I received a free gift with purchase of their camomile eye makeup remover and organic cotton pads, so I probably saved money!! And I received $20 in rewards vouchers so no doubt there will be some more additions to my stash soon …

A review on the other product I bought (and any subsequent purchases) will be up once I’ve given it a good go but for today’s post, I am reviewing the new All-In-One Instablur and the All-In-One BB Cream and I’m afraid I’m not impressed.

The products aren’t terrible by any means, I don’t dislike either product, I just wasn’t wowed.

Firstly, the Instablur is an overpriced (in my opinion) primer that is supposed to smooth and perfect the appearance and texture of your skin. It has a definite silicone feel on the skin and it does an average job of smoothing and filling in my pores, quite similar to my Collection Primed and Ready (which is less than half the price) and the Garnier Perfect Blur (which is still cheaper). If you really feel like buying this product then, by all means, go ahead. It’s still pretty good. I just think you could spend your money more wisely.

As for the BB Cream, I think it is better suited towards Dry/Combo skin because after a few hours it did get a bit shiny on me, and even after powder still had a bit of an unattractive sweaty glow to it. It gives very light coverage and has an adapting colour so you get pretty close to your perfect shade and one huge bonus that I give to this product is that the lightest shade is actually a light shade. So many times I buy the lightest shade in a BB cream and it is about 2 shades darker than my skin and looks so orangey but I don’t get that at all with this so that is definitely a plus in my books. However a minus is that you only get 0.84 fl oz of product which is below standard and I don’t feel like that is reflected in the price. I don’t think that this is the best BB Cream for my skin, I much prefer the Rimmel Matte BB Cream or the Garnier BB Cream for Combo/Oily skin. But still worth a try if you want.

So overall, the products are a bit meh for me but I have found so many products that I absolutely love from The Body Shop so I don’t mind these not being fabulous.

 

Thanks for reading,

xo

Leave a Reply

