Dupe Showdown: Battle of the Highlighters

IMG_1164

I have a pretty amazing dupe in my collection that I thought I would share with you today. It is the Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Bronze vs the Chi Chi Natural Wall of Shimmer. 

The first thing that I will say is that these are not identical products. It is obvious that they include different colours, the Bobbi Brown is much more warm with bolder colours whereas the Chi Chi includes colours closer together and more muted but in terms of the face highlighter effect, they are practically identical.

In fact, I prefer the Chi Chi ….

Both highlighters give a beautiful sheen on the cheeks, not glittery by any means which is very important. They are both golden/bronze toned so they look really natural if you have a bit of colour to your skin and both products have a gradient effect with the colours so you can choose how much bronzey colour you want which means that both can be worn all year around. But I actually prefer the Chi Chi because I can swirl my brush over the whole product and get a stunning colour that is still natural and not too powerful whereas, if I swirl the Bobbi Brown, I get a very strong bronze colour payoff which isn’t what I want in a highlighter.

IMG_1168

There is, of course, a positive to this problem and that is that the Bobbi Brown can be used as more of a multi-purpose product because it gives a gorgeous glowy wash of bronze over the eye where the Chi Chi is less pigmented (but could still be used in the same way if so desired)

Overall, if you’re willing to spend the money on the luxury brand there by all means go ahead, I did and I don’t regret it at all. But if you’re on a budget but still looking for a similar highlighter then I would completely recommend the Chi Chi if you can get your hands on it.

 

Thanks for reading,

xo

Leave a Reply

