Holiday Haul

 

I’m back from holiday and ready to get back into posting! And what better way to get back into the swing of things than with a haul of the goodies I got while I was away?

I spent my whole holiday on a boat and my time in the airport was very rushed because we almost missed a flight or two so I didn’t really have any chance to do any shopping but somehow I still found a way to spend (too much) money on makeup … are you surprised?

 

I made my very first Mac purchase which I am way too excited for. I always told myself that my first purchase would involve cult classics and favourites that I have been dying to try and I did that with the exception of one item ..

 

Left to right: Mac Pro Longwear Concealer in NW15, Mac Lipstick in Flat Out Fabulous, Mac Eyeshadows in (clockwise from top left) Wedge, All That Glitters, Woodwinked and Satin Taupe.

 

Pro Longwear Concealer is something I have wanted to try from the minute I heard about it and I am relieved to report that it lives up to all the expectations I had for it. It is amazing.

I picked up 4 eyeshadows whose names I’ve heard thrown around a bit in the beauty community and I thought would suit me so I ended up with Wedge, All That Glitters, Woodwinked and Satin Taupe. I love all 4 of them and cannot wait to get more (however I think my bank account thinks differently)

The girl serving me was such a darling and helped me so much even though she was a bit busy and she was wearing the most beautiful hot pink lipstick I have ever seen so I HAD to ask her what it was and I ended up buying Flat Out Fabulous. It’s a Retro Matte so you’ve got the be a bit more careful applying it to get pretty clean lines and although I don’t find the lipstick drying, it can take a bit of getting use feeling like you don’t have anything on your lips but the deep blue-based pink is too gorgeous to refuse.

 

On the way back to Christchurch I had just enough time to pick up a few more things that I have been wanting to try and (thanks to duty free) I could afford.

 

YSL Rouge Volupte in number 1, Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet in shade 13, Estee Lauder Double-Wear Light in Intensity 1.0, Estee Lauder Double-Wear Brush On Glow BB Highlighter in 1

 

The Chanel Lumiere Velvet Foundation was my most expensive purchase and the one I was most excited to try. I have only used it once and it was quite a light application but I can already tell now that it is oh-my-god good. You’ll have to stay tuned to hear more.

The Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Foundation is also working its way towards my favourite base products despite its young age. Its long lasting, comfortable to wear, light-medium coverage and awesome.

Then because I am a simple minded girl who is distracted by shiny packaging, I also grabbed the Estee Lauder Double Wear Brush-On Glow BB Highlighter. It is along the lines of similar products by YSL, Maybelline, Mac etc where it is a twist up highlighting pen and I have it in the lightest shade however it is almost a perfect match for my skin colour to the highlighting effect is a little lost on my BUT I used it on my Mum the other day and it looked freaking amazing so I’m sure someone’s going to be enjoying my impulse buy …

On the topic of shiny packaging, the YSL Rouge Volupte in number 1 (I think it is Rose Beige or something like that) is thankfully not only the most beautifully packaged liptick I own but also a great formula and the perfect nude colour for me. I don’t like concealer-esque nudes so I am absolutely in love with this one.

 

Overall, my holiday was really good. I made some beautiful memories with the people I spent it with and I will remember it for a life time

 

Thanks for readying guys,

xo

 

Leave a Reply

